What is Tempus?



The Tempus Programme is the European Union co-operation scheme for Higher Education which supports the process of transformation to market economies and democratic societies in the New Independent States and Mongolia (Tempus TACIS), the Western Balkans (Tempus CARDS), the Mediterranean Countries (Tempus MEDA).in line with the objectives of overall EU co-operation with these countries.

The Tempus Programme was first adopted on 7 May 1990 by the Council of Ministers of the European Union. On 29 April 1999 the Council of Ministers of the European Union adopted the latest phase of the programme TEMPUS III.

The New Programme

The new Tempus Programme covers the period 2000-2006. It addresses two groups of countries: the New Independent States and Mongolia and the non associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe.

The candidate countries are no longer eligible for Tempus funding, these countries are in the phase of pre-accession to the European Union. However, TEMPUS III will seek to maintain links with this group of countries by closely associating them in the programme.

The national authorities of the partner countries and the European Commission define the framework for the programme through the establishment of national priorities.

Tempus is administered by the European Commission Directorate General Education & Culture and technical assistance is provided by the Tempus Department of the European Training Foundation.

National Tempus Information Points and National Tempus Offices in the partner countries and National Contact Points in the EU Member States assist in providing information and support to the programme.

For more information you can consult the European Training Foundation Web Site where you will find the Tempus Guide for Applicants 2000/01 and 2001/02 available to download.